National Farmers’ Bank

I finally crossed off something on my list of things I’ve wanted to do for awhile. Behold, the National Farmers’ Bank of Owatonna:

Unfortunately, the bank was closed when these photos were taken and as such, I was only able to get one interior shot from an ATM vestibule.

I think this is by far Louis Sullivan’s best ‘jewel box’.

If you want to learn more about Sullivan and other modern masters, I highly recommend Makers of Modern Architecture: From Frank Lloyd Wright to Frank Gehry. This book is not for the faint of heart. I read it a couple of summers ago and it took me three or four renewals from the library in order to be able to get through it. Pretty dense, but wonderfully thorough.

Leave a Reply

