Maya Lin

37 Signals notes Maya Lin’s original design proposal for the Vietnam Veteran Memorial.

I visited the memorial in the summer of 1982. As someone who, at that time, had limited context as to the meaning and significant of the space, the thing that I remember the most were the wooden walkways that were in place as the memorial was not yet finished. I also taken aback when one of our party was brought to tears as a recognized name was found on the wall. I had no personal history with the war to drive “personal reflection and private reckoning” but of course others did.

From a design perspective I am drawn to the embedded nature of the memorial. This design feature is something that I often explore in my own work.

Leave a Reply

